1       2       3      
       end

Archive 2013 · Question about selling gear on FM

Access
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.4 #1 · p.4 #1 · Question about selling gear on FM

Doesn't have to be mutually exclusive.

Haggling is useful especially if you want a good price on a relatively common item.
They could be random numbers for all that matters, whats important is that people believe they mean _something_.

If, for instance, only one out of ten otherwise identical 'L' lenses had a red ring, you can bet that there would be enough people out there who would find the rarer ones more valuable. It's basically human nature (to dwell on the trivial).

Some photographers are social by nature and others must be social by trade.

Jun 26, 2013 at 09:45 AM
StarNut
• • • •
p.4 #2 · p.4 #2 · Question about selling gear on FM

borderlight wrote:
I rephrase then: Codes are for collectors AND hagglers, not photographers.

So, just to be clear, you're saying that, given a choice between two apparently identical lenses, from the same reputable seller, one ten years old and one one year old, you'd happily take the older lens (because you snort at date codes as having any meaning to "photographers," and you certainly consider yourself a "photographer")?

My mileage varies....

Jun 26, 2013 at 11:45 AM
Access
• • •
p.4 #3 · p.4 #3 · Question about selling gear on FM

Starnut, I think you assume too much,

If I was the buyer in that situation, my strategy would be trying to haggle for a lower price on the older lens because it's _obviously_ worth much less based on the fact it is older as shown by the older date code.[1]