Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Best tripod under $300

redcoat

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Best tripod under $300

Hi,

Newbie here...

Are there any good tripods under $300? Largest lens I have is the Nikkor 300mm VR. Do some travel, enjoy night time photography.

thanks!

Red

Jun 13, 2013 at 06:24 PM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Best tripod under $300

Hi Red,

Welcome to FM.

I think you'll probably find something nice at Feisol. I have a Feisol 3441S tripod ($400) and also a Feisol CM-1471 Rapid monopod. They're great! I bought them specifally for travel with 'larger' gear (10kg & 11kg capacities, respectively). I also have a lighter Gitzo GT-0540 CF for hiking, but its capacity is only 5kg, and it costs 50% more than the 3441S.

If you can't stretch to $400 for a 3441S or similar "Traveler" tripod, then you'll probably find something decent in the Feisol "Classic" lineup,

http://www.feisol.net/rapid-tripods-classic-tripods-c-1_12.html

Jun 13, 2013 at 07:17 PM
pmiller228

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Best tripod under $300

Check out induro if you want twist lock legs or benro if you want flip lock legs. You'll be well under $300 if you don't mind aluminum.

Jun 13, 2013 at 07:50 PM
Gochugogi
• • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Best tripod under $300

Both head and legs? That's tight but doable. Manfrotto 055XPROB goes for $200 if you want something beefy and stable. The 190XPROB for $170 is a little smaller and lighter and leaves enough money for an entry level ball head. Like a $170 Sunwayfoto FB-36 ball head.

http://www.amazon.com/Manfrotto-190XPROB-Section-Aluminum-Tripod/dp/B000N7VPRW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1371154054&sr=8-1&keywords=manfrotto+190