Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Starting home studio lighting on a budget -- please help

Squirrely Eyed
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Starting home studio lighting on a budget -- please help

Experts at FM, please lend me your advice & assistance. I'd like to get some additional artificial lighting options for my home. I won't have the space to setup any kind of real studio environment, so these will be used in normal home rooms (off-white walls, carpet, small to large rooms, etc.). I'll mostly use them for family type photos & portraits. I should mention I'm relatively new to artificial lighting, so I'm more concerned about learning how to control that than, say, having pretty backgrounds.

So, here are the details & requirements:

1. Currently I have a 7D body, a 600ex-rt speedlite, and a 10m OCF ETTL cable.
  2. I'm 90% sure I'd prefer to go for strobes/speedlites instead of continuous lighting but am open to comments.
  3. I'd prefer to do this without buying a wireless triggering system.
  4. Need an expandable system so I can add more later if desired or needed.
  5. Would like to keep initial investment < $500.

Much thanks in advance for your help.

Jun 04, 2013 at 05:06 PM
DanBrown
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · Starting home studio lighting on a budget -- please help

About a year ago, John Cornicello did a great presentation on setting up a home studio on a budget for CreativeLive.

Jun 04, 2013 at 05:30 PM
jefferies1
• • • •
p.1 #3 · Starting home studio lighting on a budget -- please help