FM Forum Rules
Nature & Wildlife Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Nature & Wildlife | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Few Warblers from this Spring

Dave Inman
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Few Warblers from this Spring

First of all let me say that I am in awe at the images posted in this forum. I feel that I am way out of my league here. I have had a love for birds since I was an early teen (I'm now 58). About three years ago I decided that I'd like to photograph them rather than just look at them through my binoculars. I bought a D7000 and recently bought a Nikon 500/4 lens from a FM member on the buy/sell boards. That will most likely be the last lens I buy for bird photography. Previously I had a Sigma 150-500 which I eventually sold and I also have a 300/2.8 which I am in the process of selling.

I have no photography background and everything I have learned has been from reading books and/or searching the internet. I am pretty disappointed in most of the images that I take so please feel free to comment and criticize on anything that I post. In doing so I am hoping to learn so that I can enjoy my hobby even more.

Thanks for looking,
Dave

Bay-breasted Warbler taken at Presque Isle State Park - Erie, PA

Black and White Warbler taken at Presque Isle State Park - Erie, PA

Prothonotary Warbler taken at Geneva Swamp - Meadville, PA

Yellow Warbler taken at PA State Geme Lands #284

Female Yellow-rumped Warbler taken at PA State Game Lands #284

May 21, 2013 at 08:30 PM
morris
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Few Warblers from this Spring

Hi Dave,

The last 2 are my picks. Looking at the images, the first 2 are focused on branches that are closer than your subject. Are you using single point focus and focus lock? Then recomposing after focusing on the eye? The next to the last is clearly a crop and that’s costing quality. The last seems sharp and I’d suspecting a crop.