Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Fresnel Lights - Best for Interior photography?

zlgragg
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Fresnel Lights - Best for Interior photography?

Hey all,

I'd like to pick up some good Fresnel lights for use in homes and condos, in order to better light them.

Ideally, I'd like to have just 1 and spent ~$500.

Thoughts/comments/questions would be appreciated.

Regards,
Zak

May 15, 2013 at 06:10 PM
JustinR
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Fresnel Lights - Best for Interior photography?

I'm not a photography lighting expert, just an amateur. But I have been doing drama lighting for 17 years now and I really like what I see with the new ETC Source 4 Fresnels. That being said, while ETC are the standard for theater and performance lighting, it seems like the Arri is the defacto standard for location video lighting. I've always wondered why; can anyone else shed some light on that? I believe it's because they are a bit smaller and lighter for similar output. I'd imagine the smaller lens would make the light slightly harsher, but I know that Arri's are used all over the place. It looks like Arri makes a 650 watt, 4.3" Fresnel that costs about the same as the ETC Source 4 Fresnel, which is a 750 watt, 7" instrument. Whatever you end up with, make sure you keep money in your budget for a set of barn doors to go with your fresnel.

May 15, 2013 at 09:42 PM
borderlight
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Fresnel Lights - Best for Interior photography?