New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Out of Focus Images & Sharing with Clients

ConstellationX

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Out of Focus Images & Sharing with Clients

I'm a total newb to the industry, so I'm wondering how other photographers handle this type of situation.

I've been having focus issues with my Canon 7D. I did a hard reset on it about a week ago, which improved the camera's focus a TON. But it still has a few issues every few images. So, to compensate, when I've been doing sessions, I take five to seven pictures of the same image. Usually at least one turns out crystal clear.

But, occasionally, the focus is completely off in an entire series of a single pose. Sometimes only a hair, though.

When you have images that are just BARELY out of focus, but its a really great pose/expression/etc, do you still try to work with it, edit it a bit, and post it/give it to the client? Or do you scrap it all together?

May 14, 2013 at 12:34 AM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Out of Focus Images & Sharing with Clients

It's possible to use selective sharpening with multiple layers to 'fix' key parts of a slightly OOF image, but it only works well for relatively small output formats (i.e. web images) and smaller prints; prints on canvas can tolerate this better than higher resolution papers. It also introduces noise, and so it really helps to have a very clean file to start with.

Also, it depends on how much time you have to spend on this, and how important the OOF images are to the overall package that you want the client to buy. If you don't need them, then leave them alone; although it's a process that you can practice and get pretty quick at doing.

May 14, 2013 at 07:20 AM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Out of Focus Images & Sharing with Clients