Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · Help, insurance coverage for hobbyist!

danwanfur
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Help, insurance coverage for hobbyist!

Hi, I am a hobbyist from California with some expensive camera gear. I am shopping for an agency/agent with reasonable insurance coverage for equipment.
I have been covered by State Farm for the past 2 years. Unfortunately they have decided to not allow me to add any more items, including a recently-purchased 500 f4, after I filed a claim. I really liked their policy, with the following key features:
1) Low cost at $1.2 per $100 of coverage per year
2) Zero deductible
3) World wide coverage
4) Policy covered theft, fire etc but Also accidental damage
5) Not having to pay for extra insurance features (liability etc) that I do not care for
I am looking for another insurance provider with similar features. Number 4) is essential, and I would prefer $250 deductible (or less) and <$2/$100 coverage. Total cost of equipment is about $15k, so hopefully less than $300/year.
I have contacted some agencies such as Farmers Agent and AAA, but they do not provide suitable insurance at a reasonable price. I have also looked at some policies by professional organizations (PPA etc) but their costs are too high after I account for annual membership cost. I am not eligible for USAA, and I currently do not have any homeowners insurance.
Please help me find suitable insurance coverage!

May 08, 2013 at 08:39 PM
Tony B
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Help, insurance coverage for hobbyist!

Interesting to know what you call reasonable.
I'm in Australia & I pay $80 per month for $30000+ of valuables 24/7 coverage worldwide.