Landscape Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Landscape Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2013 · On visualization and Planning

jsuro
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · On visualization and Planning

Congratulations to jsuro for winning Feature Thread of the Week with 12 votes - View Previous Winners

HI All,

Photography has been quite the journey for me. A long one at that - I’ve been making images since the 1970’s. Like for most of us, along the way my methods, techniques, tastes and visualization have evolved to where I find myself today.

A while back we hit the digital revolution. There was a new sensor, camera, lens, software, etc. out almost every month. During that stage I got out a lot, and shot a lot. I now realize that the drive to shoot was mainly the new stuff. I wanted to see how it all worked. I wanted to see how my images would improve. This led to what I refer to as “chance imaging”. I went out regardless, sometimes not knowing what I would find. I tried to force the images to appeal to me because, after all, I wanted good pictures. In retrospect, I wasted a lot of time.

Fast forward to the last few years. I moved back to film, large format at that. And a new learning curve. This time though I went about it differently, a bit wiser. I learned from the past and this time I tested the new equipment under controlled conditions. More importantly, I planned tests with a predictable outcome in mind. Once done I felt confident about what the equipment could and could not do, and this led me to not only visualize images while sitting in my living room, but because of this I rarely go out on a shoot unless the conditions meet the parameters of those visualizations.

I shoot a lot less as a result. However, the images are much closer to what I had in mind; there is a lot less manipulation in the “darkroom”, and I have evolved a more coherent personal style.