Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Color Help: Insight Welcome!

iteraoka

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Color Help: Insight Welcome!

Hello everyone!

I'm new to the whole "forum and discuss" thing, but I really wanted to get some feedback on my photography. I've never taken a class (intending to in the fall), so at times getting input can be difficult, but over the years I've done my best.

My main concern now, however, is of color. I've seen many photos have much more brilliant colors than my own, and I've noticed that a lot of my photos seem to have really "flat" coloring in comparison (by that I mean the colors are very light in nature, not too sure how to describe it), something that I've tried to fix but so far haven't found too many solutions to. Even things such as HSL customizations in Lightroom don't work, I'm wondering if it is a problem of overexposure, contrast, etc.

Anyways, this is the photo in question; I took this on a hike in Japan, Mt. Takao. What do you guys think? Any constructive feedback is greatly appreciated.

by IanTeraokaPhotography, on Flickr

Thank you so much!

May 07, 2013 at 10:58 AM
RustyBug
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Color Help: Insight Welcome!

Welcome to FM and to the PC Forum.

Well, you've presented a rather unique image for consideration @ color. This one has some rather complex issues going on with it ... no matter who would have taken it at that time of day. If you have questions about your processing, you might want to post up a different image that is a bit more simple to discern how you are processing vs. such a complex color lighting scene as this one.