Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2013 · Alternative software to Photoshop

Sami Ruusunen
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Alternative software to Photoshop

Since Adobe just convinced me to consider alternatives to Photoshop and Lightroom, I wonder what other software are people using for photo editing?

I just purchased the Pixelmator and tried it briefly, feels fine but need to use it more to learn if it's right for me.
I am not a fan of gimp which I tried for few months.

I've been using Photoshop since 1992 (version 2.5) so I'm pretty much growed to it and the transition will not be easy for me.

I also just purchased the Aperture so I can decide if I can get rid of the Lightroom too.

May 07, 2013 at 01:41 PM
rater

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Alternative software to Photoshop

Ah, I was going to ask the same question. I already use Aperture instead of Lightroom to manage images but when I need some serious image edition I rely on Photoshop... I guess I will continue to use my CS6 version in the short term, but with the new online subscription focus I am wondering what I will use in the medium / long term. I wonder if there is any nice alternative to Photoshop...

May 07, 2013 at 02:05 PM
vsg28
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Alternative software to Photoshop

Isn't Aperture more of a Lightroom replacement? In that sense, so is Capture One Pro.

True alternative imo are Gimp, Matlab and Corel Paintshop Pro.

May 07, 2013 at 02:07 PM
15Bit
• • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Alternative software to Photoshop

Capture One is a viable alternative to LR with, in some respects, better editing functionality. It isn't a Photoshop replacement though.

May 07, 2013 at 02:37 PM