New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · First Attempt at an Indian dance recital

bugsnest

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · First Attempt at an Indian dance recital

Please go easy on me since I am still a newbie

My 9 year old is learning a form of Indian classical dance and performed at an annual event last year. I was the unofficial photographer for the event and shot with my then new Canon 60D and a 70-200 f/4 lens under a High ISO setting at RAW and post processed in LR3 later (mostly color correction and cropping).

I had a tough time shooting in this light and did not want to ruin the pictures using flash so tried to do the best I could. This dance form relies on grace and facial expression but I am not sure if I was able to convey all that. I am posting 7 images of the 300+ images I captured for C&C. Thanks in advance.

© bugsnest 2013

© bugsnest 2013

© bugsnest 2013

© bugsnest 2013

© bugsnest 2013

May 06, 2013 at 10:15 PM
bugsnest

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · First Attempt at an Indian dance recital

second set

© bugsnest 2013

© bugsnest 2013

© bugsnest 2013

May 06, 2013 at 10:17 PM
Jim Rickards
• • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · First Attempt at an Indian dance recital

I think you captured the spirit of the event. Colours look good.
The exif is blocked so I couldn't peek at your settings. Everybody has a different idea of what "high ISO" means. The 60D can handle some pretty high ISOs.

A few look soft, so I wonder about your shutter speeds. Keeping them high would make these crisper.

May 07, 2013 at 12:27 AM
venkidesh Iyer
• •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · First Attempt at an Indian dance recital

Looks nice and good colors..
I do shoot dance performances and lighting is always extremely challenging. Keep SS high (i usually keep at 1/800 or better) images may look bit more crisper.. overall i like these ones

May 07, 2013 at 12:41 AM
Steve Wylie
• • •