Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Alternative Gear & Lenses | Join Upload & Sell

end

Archive 2013 · Medium Format Digital Backs (Mamiya ZD)

AHPZuazua
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · Medium Format Digital Backs (Mamiya ZD)

Thanks Ken. I will keep looking

May 21, 2013 at 10:14 PM
AHPZuazua
• • •
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · Medium Format Digital Backs (Mamiya ZD)

Just got some prints back. Printed by Calumet. Very Nice. The depth of field on Medium Format is just breath taking. Since I'm new to the Format, I didn't want to use it on this weekends Maternity Shoot as my Main camera but will start using it more often. Just might make the jump.
Heres a sample

May 26, 2013 at 08:18 PM
Luta13
• •
p.2 #3 · p.2 #3 · Medium Format Digital Backs (Mamiya ZD)

You can get high megapixel images suitable for enlarging by stitching multiple images. I use a tilt-shift lens but I dont see why you couldnt use what you have if you buy a nodal rail to prevent parallax for in-close subjects and maybe a panoramic head to make life easy. This route would be better for landscapes than portrait work. But it can and is used by some of the best photogs. Learn how to stitch well and you can create 100MP files and use your current gear.
Here is a guy that uses stitching to do wedding photos: http://strobist.blogspot.com/2012/04/ryan-brenizers-panoramic-portraiture.html

May 27, 2013 at 03:52 PM
Mescalamba
• • • •
p.2 #4 · p.2 #4 · Medium Format Digital Backs (Mamiya ZD)

Doing brenizer or shooting MF is a lot different. I would prefer MFDB, cause you can get what you need in one shot, no stitching needed (but possible even with it .

Main factor for portraits with MFDB should be real sensor size, not mpix. Bigger is simply better.