FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

2       3              28       29       end

Archive 2013 · Adobe kills standalone software

snowboarder
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Adobe kills standalone software

no more updates beyond CS6 (!)
We are forced to a monthly subscription (cloud).

May 06, 2013 at 03:38 PM
douglasf13
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Adobe kills standalone software

Interesting. Coincidentally, I just downloaded GIMP the other day, since I hadn't tried it in several years, and now I'm more curious than ever to see what it is like.

May 06, 2013 at 03:44 PM
Tariq Gibran
• • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Adobe kills standalone software

Oh, that really sucks! Adobe is making a huge mistake if they don't think other players will step in and fill the void such a move creates.

On another note - slightly ot - I just started playing around with Photo Ninja the other day for raw conversions. I was a bit surprised to find it actually has much better highlight recovery than Adobe. It also has a few tricks up its sleeve that are not even in ACR/ LR. The one that jumped out at me was a "Detail" slider. It's not sharpening nor clarity but more like the "Structure' in Silver Efex - but for color of course. It can be used to make any image appear "foveon" like for those who like that look.
http://www.picturecode.com/tutorials/detail_enh.php

May 06, 2013 at 03:54 PM
Bijltje
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Adobe kills standalone software

Oh wow, 24 euro a month per program or 61 euro per month (including tax) for the set....
So thats 600 euro a year without the 21% taxes, or 730 with taxes.

Sounds not to bad actually if u used to buy every update. A shame if u used to skip a version and now pay 700 euro for a year and have nothing left after that year.

Only thing is I can't find a CS set with only the essentials (Ps, Ai, Id and acrobat pro) like they used to sell.
Maybe they offer that one at a discount..

May 06, 2013 at 04:05 PM