New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · Location lighting?

PennsyBill
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Location lighting?

Just about a complete novice when it comes to studio work but I'd like to put together a portable strobe outfit (2 lights max) for taking individual and small group photos outdoors.

Portable, easy to set up and simple to use - and while price isn't the major consideration, I'd like not to lie to my wife about what I spent.

Any suggestions?

May 01, 2013 at 07:48 PM
pmiller228
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Location lighting?

I'd say it depends what you want to do.

I have 2 kits depending on my needs.

If I want easy to transport and lightweight, I bring a set of manual hot shoe flashes and radio triggers, light stands, and whichever modifier I want to use.

If I want more power and better modifier selection I have a set of Paul c buff Einsteins with vml battery packs, HD lightstands,etc..

May 02, 2013 at 08:56 AM
eburge
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Location lighting?

Novatron (my first studio lighting kit) make 2 light kits with everything in the case.

May 02, 2013 at 10:49 AM
cgardner
• • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Location lighting?

A good deal of location work can be done with a pair of strong (e.g. 580EX or 600EX-RT) speedlights. I use that approach all the time with one flash on a bracket and the other off camera because nobody is playing me and I don't want to be bothered hauling around the studio lights, which I also have.

Outdoors the lack of strength of speedlights can be worked around by taking maximum advantage of the natural light and avoiding it's problems:

1) Put the sun directly behind the subjects as "hair light and expose at F/11 @ 1/250 @ ISO 100

2) Pose the faces up in to the brightest part of the skylight as the ambient "Key" vector.