Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Can anyone depict the advantage of the 100 2.8L Macro ove...

jvphotos
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Can anyone depict the advantage of the 100 2.8L Macro over a non-macro ~100mm zoom/prime?

I'm intrigued by the 100 2.8L IS macro lens but I'm a total newb and it's hard for me to visualize in any tangible way the advantages that it would have over just using a prime or a zoom that covers 100 (I have the 24-105 f4 is now... the aperture difference is pretty clear to me but I'm wondering more about lens capabilities and what kind of 'new worlds' i could potentially open up by having a dedicated macro lens). I know it's a stupid question, but I'm still learning so bear with me (or just hit the back button as you shake your head at my newb-ishness ). I realize you can get closer and fill the frame better, and I've tried to do a lot of reading on it, but visual examples would be awful helpful if you have any or know of any valuable ones on a review or info site I may not have found yet.

Thanks!

Apr 30, 2013 at 12:52 PM
Ian.Dobinson
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · Can anyone depict the advantage of the 100 2.8L Macro over a non-macro ~100mm zoom/prime?

Its macro , you can focus closer which magnifies the thing your shooting . With a proper macro lens you can get down to life size (1:1) which means that if you were to shoot something that was the same size as the 35mm sensor in a camera (I will stick to full frame for this) then it will FILL the whole frame (and look freakin huge when you have it on your 27" screen )
Now shoot the same subject with a 24-105 and the best magnification you can get to is 0:23 which is just under a quater of the frame .