FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

end

Archive 2013 · 5D3 to ?

goosemang
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · 5D3 to ?

redisburning wrote:
OP I did the graduate school thing too, and like you I will never go beyond the amateur level. People who haven't gone through it simply do not understand what it does to you, and how much it stretches your budget, time and desire to do stuff.

I am not sure if you like photographs or photographing. I am definitely in the latter camp. If you are too, I will just tell you that if you want to get more enjoyment out of less shots then you ought to seriously consider film photography, especially in a hands on way. A Contax
...Show more

i have to say, i didn't do it for cost savings, but i started shooting 6x6 and 35mm film a few months ago, and i have to say that i am enjoying shooting fewer frames but putting more time into shots and developing. i started developing my own b&w, and it cost me $100 to get everything i needed.

douglasf13 wrote:
X100 or X100s. The only camera I like shooting more is the M9, but the gulf in price makes the Fujis a no-brainer.

film also allowed me to shoot an M6, as i wouldn't have got to experience a Leica rangefinder if i was buying digital. (the only downside is now all my other cameras feel like plastic.)

i would agree with the x100/x100s. you'll be surprised how much you don't miss constantly fiddling with changing lenses or thinking about other options. you're shooting 35 and that's the end of it. nice and simple. great looking files.

Apr 29, 2013 at 12:42 PM
rattymouse
• • • • •
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · 5D3 to ?

goosemang wrote:
i have to say, i didn't do it for cost savings, but i started shooting 6x6 and 35mm film a few months ago, and i have to say that i am enjoying shooting fewer frames but putting more time into shots and developing. i started developing my own b&w, and it cost me $100 to get everything i needed.