Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Is LR4 a good RAW converter for Nikon?

Albi86
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Is LR4 a good RAW converter for Nikon?

I'm new to Nikon so there are many things that I'm still learning.

The way I usually do things is to import my NEF files from the D600 into LR4 with the "convert to DNG" option.

I have to say, I'm not always pleased with the rendition.

How do you Nikon veterans do it?

Apr 19, 2013 at 01:39 AM
colincarter46
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Is LR4 a good RAW converter for Nikon?

I don't convert to DNG, never have, never will, but thats just my choice.

Other than that I haven't found a better raw converter on the market, Lightroom is superb.

Aperture is also good and so is phase one capture one, I just like light rooms workflow.

Nikon capturNX is probably the worst written piece of software out there. Good results but a pig to use.

Apr 19, 2013 at 01:58 AM
Albi86
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Is LR4 a good RAW converter for Nikon?

So do you think there's a loss of something in converting to DNG?

I also love the usability of LR4. I had the idea to use the Nikon software to convert the files to 16bit TIFF and the importing the TIFF into LR. The only problem is the size of TIFF files O.o

Apr 19, 2013 at 02:03 AM
CGrindahl
• • • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Is LR4 a good RAW converter for Nikon?