Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Amateur photo critique

SuperZac

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Amateur photo critique

Hello all, I'm a high school student and I've really gotten into photography. I don't get to shoot much because I don't have my own camera yet, but I thought I'd post a few of my best shots here to see what you guys think.
Each shot is unrelated to the others and I picked it to show you guys mostly because they are the ones my teacher has really liked.

I'm not sure how to embed here, but flickr

#1 - Not edited at all, just fun light stuff.
http://flic.kr/p/ecs8yY

#2 - A couple filters. I was lucky to get this in focus as I was shooting out the car window
http://flic.kr/p/ecmuAX

#3 - Not edited at all. A bit indecisive about the lighting- is it overexposed or not?
http://flic.kr/p/ecs8QG

Thank you for your time, and sorry if this is an inappropriate post. Just discovered this forum.

Apr 19, 2013 at 01:32 AM
cgardner
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Amateur photo critique

In terms of general advice compostion advice, before taking a shot consider what story you want it to tell the viewer, what it's "punchline" focal point is, and what if any context is needed to understand the story. Finally, if the intended audience are strangers why would they find it interesting?

Asking yourself and thinking about those questions will help make composition decisions such as where in the frame to put the focal point, how tight to crop to show the surrounding context, and sequence viewers are likely to process the content.