Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Best waterproof point and shoot?

PeakPhoto
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Best waterproof point and shoot?

Hey everyone,

So I've been in the market for a waterproof point and shoot for a while, but being a photographer with a lot invested in gear I don't want something that's going to give me shit for quality. I would love to get a waterproof housing for my dslr but it's just too expensive and too cumbersome to bring on trips.

I'm an adventure travel photographer so I cover everything from hiking to biking to rafting. The rafting is where I'd really need it. The hiking and biking will be covered by my dslrs. I'll be rafting in Costa Rica here in a month and need something that will give me at least decent quality.

I used to have an olympus tough, but it wasn't so tough. Broke (became waterlogged) day two into a week long raft trip down the Grand Canyon.

I'd appreciate any and all advice.

Andy

Apr 18, 2013 at 03:06 AM
Cicopo
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Best waterproof point and shoot?

If you're looking for the simple solution the Canon D 10 & D 20 have a decent reputation but as a diver I know the G series (I use a G9) is a way better option but at a price. No matter which way you go housed cameras need extra care before closing the housing to be certain NOTHING is stuck in the seal whether it be a strand of hair or a bit of sand etc. Seems the G1x is a very good option but with less than stellar macro capabilities.

Apr 20, 2013 at 01:22 AM
PeakPhoto
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Best waterproof point and shoot?

Thank you,

Anybody heard anything on the Nikon CoolPix AW100, it's what seems to keep coming up in my research.