Deadline: August 20th noon UTC/GMT

WA Rules ยท Current entries

FM Forums | Weekly Assignments | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · #549 Wind Power

aeronaut

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · #549 Wind Power

I think this mighty windmill might be able to power the whole planet

This little planet was stitched together from 44 photos taken at a local historical park, using a custom built panoramic head.

Thanks for looking, and good luck to everyone this week!

http://i1182.photobucket.com/albums/x455/aeronaut9k/Strathearn_Little_Planet_640_zpsf1c0af1c.jpg

Apr 17, 2013 at 01:20 AM
Klaus Priebe
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · #549 Wind Power

Cool!

Apr 17, 2013 at 06:07 AM
SteveF
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · #549 Wind Power

Very fun shot - like it!

Apr 23, 2013 at 08:29 PM
Eco_3

p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · #549 Wind Power

I've read about this type of stitch-what exactly is it/how can it be done? Sorry for the total newb question!

Apr 27, 2013 at 09:53 PM
aeronaut

p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · #549 Wind Power

Thanks, guys!

No worries. I'm not a master of this either, but I do have fun playing around with them.

This is called a stereographic projection, and when it is done this way, sometimes people call it a "little planet".

You start by taking a series of shots from a single location, with the camera pointing in all different directions (making sure to get a good bit of overlap between adjacent shots). So, you basically end up rotating all the way around, 360 degrees, a few times. With my 24mm lens, I usually end up having to do at least 3 rotations: one with the camera pointed toward the ground (maybe 45-60 degrees down), one pointed roughly straight out, and one pointed up to catch the tops of everything around me and the sky above it. It ends up being a total of maybe 45-48 shots.