Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · How should I invest my $1000

finover9

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · How should I invest my $1000

Hello everyone,
I am new to the forum. I have decision to make and would like to hear from professional and expert here.

I got about $1000 from my tax return and would like to upgrade my photography equipment . This $1000 is very precious to me and cannot afford trial and error (Im also a student). So, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

A little bit about me. I am an armature. I take mostly landscape picture, cityscape, and a little bit of street picture. I want my picture to look artistic and all of my picture will be present on webpage, will not be printing any time soon. And Im shooting RAW and use Photoshop CS5 and LR 4.4

Currently, I am using D90 with 18-200mm, 85mm, 50mm, and 11-16mm lens. My computer has only 4 gig of RAM, regular SATA hard drive, cheap monitor, and 512 GTX 460.
I have been thinking how should I spend this money wisely and come up with these options:

Option 1:
In my opinion, Monitor is very important for post processing . I donít want to spend hours of editing and picture shows up differently to other people. Also , I would like to train my eyes to see color and produce photo with accurate color.
- NEC PA241WBK BHphoto $750
- Upgrade hard drive to SSD $150
- Upgrade RAM to 16 gig $150
Total of $1050
I wont have enough money to buy color calibration hardware and software anytime soon. I hope I can trust this NEC monitor out of the box according to my research, but not sure if Im right. Please advice.

Option 2:
- Dell U2410 $370
- Spyder 4 Pro $150
- SSD $150
- RAM $150
Total of $820