New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Best two camera carrying method

PeakPhoto
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Best two camera carrying method

So I like to shoot with two cameras, one with either my 16-35 f/2.8 or my 24mm TS-E. The other camera has a 70-200 F/2.8 IS II.

I'm mainly a travel and adventure photographer. So I'm hiking usually and I need to be able to use either camera at a moments notice. Right now both of my cameras have the stock Canon neck straps.. terrible. I've looked at the black rapid dual straps, but I hear they swing a bit and probably wouldn't be the best for hiking.

I know a lot of photographers out there shoot two cameras.. so what do you use?

Andy

Apr 13, 2013 at 08:26 PM
MazeRunner
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Best two camera carrying method

I'm not too sure for traveling/adventuring, but I know for weddings I use a BlackRapid RS-PRO for my second camera and leave the leash short, and then a Peak Design Capture for my main camera slung over my right shoulder.

Don't use the stock Canon neck straps--I never attached my Nikon ones to my D700 and D800 at all, they're just free advertising for the companies, and too short and un-adjustable (major unhappy points).

If you're shooting with a heavier camera/lens combination but without the battery grip, then consider the Peak Design capture clip plate and just throw it on one of your backpack straps. Not advised for anything heavier than 5 pounds, but I feel safe with my D700 (when no grip) and 85mm 1.4G on it.

Apr 13, 2013 at 11:41 PM
PeakPhoto
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Best two camera carrying method

MazeRunner wrote:
I'm not too sure for traveling/adventuring, but I know for weddings I use a BlackRapid RS-PRO for my second camera and leave the leash short, and then a Peak Design Capture for my main camera slung over my right shoulder.