Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Monitor Calibration - i1 Display and Dell 2410

JimKied
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · Monitor Calibration - i1 Display and Dell 2410

A color calibration noob here. I have been getting variable calibration results from this combination. Background - I am using the Dell 2410 as an external display to a Dell Precision M4600 laptop with the NVIDIA Quadro 1000M video card.

The short version of my issue is that sometimes, the calibration results in a way too warm, reddish tint to the video. I am using d65, trying for 1.2 luminance, etc. etc.

When I run the profiler, the automatic display control (ADC) does not work on this monitor. As an aside, I think this is odd, because it did work on my older Dell 2209 monitor. Just saying. So I have to adjust contrast and brightness manually. I never have to adjust contrast, but brightness is out just about every time I calibrate (1x month). This is true even though I check the ambient light smart control.

When I manually adjust brightness, I frequently have t adjust brightness almost all the way to the bottom of the brightness scale for the monitor (somewhere around 13 on a scale of 100). I actually think this is where the problem is. I think the brightness is too low for the calibrator to give good results. Hope that makes sense.

FWIW - at those low brightness values, the print brightness on my printer come out about right. I haven't sent any pics to a lab since I got the new i1 Display Pro.

The strange (to me) thing is, sometimes the calibration results are great, sometimes not (as demonstrated on prints from my printer (which is not calibrated, by the way).