New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Talk To Me About Calibrating a Monitor

hulk2006
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Talk To Me About Calibrating a Monitor

Hi guys, I have a HP LP2465 Carbonite-Silver 24" 1920x1200 monitor and I would like to calibrate it so I can better use Photoshop and Lighroom. I've never done this before so I have been doing a lot of reading and I think I am going to go with the Spyder4Pro. I would like to know if this is a good product. I am not a professional so I can't see myself spending $300 for the X-Rite EODIS3CCPP i1 Display Pro and ColorChecker Passport Bundle.

Apr 08, 2013 at 01:29 PM
Mescalamba
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Talk To Me About Calibrating a Monitor

Its better than nothing probably.

Thing about calibration is that its useful when you print, if you dont and colors dont seem too "off", its probably ok.

If you print you need printer profiled too..

Tho ColorChecker is pretty useful thing in general, cause as far as I know most cams benefit from being profiled. Plus it helps getting things color consistent across various cams/lens.

Unfortunately there is nothing like "cheap" color profiling.

Apr 08, 2013 at 01:35 PM
ben egbert
• • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Talk To Me About Calibrating a Monitor

Calibration means setting to a standard, but there are many choices. When you get your calibration hardware and start the work, you have to make many choices. I can help with a few.

I think defualt "monitor contrast" is a good choice for LCD/s
Gamma is usually set at 2.2
6500 seems to be the choice for white Balance.
Brightness is the one hard choice so I will supply options.

For printing, I like a dark monitor, 80cd/mm^2.
For web presentation, you will want brighter, like 120 or even 150.