Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Reflective graphics make image look dark

MRM4
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Reflective graphics make image look dark

I have been shooting racing for over 10 years now. I never used to have this problem until I moved up to my D700. A buddy of mine has the same problem on his D300. Certain cars that use certain kinds of reflective graphics cause the entire image look dark. The reflective decals are nice and bright, everything else is what's dark. Is there something within the camera or even the flash (using SB800) that can prevent these types of images?

Apr 08, 2013 at 04:56 PM
Ben Horne
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Reflective graphics make image look dark

This is a common issue with any thing reflective. Before your flash fires, there is a pre flash that the camera uses to meter the scene for flash. A lot of light gets kicked back from those reflective decals, so the camera decides it doesn't need much flash to expose for the scene. The same thing will happen if there is a stop sign or something similar in the background.

You can dial up exposure compensation on your flash, but this will only help if every car has the same sort of reflective decals. Otherwise, it will blow out the exposures. You could also have the flash off camera mounted somewhere to your right or left so it doesn't kick light directly back into the camera lens from those reflective decals.