Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

1       2      
       4       end

Archive 2013 · Upstart Needs Food Photography

campyone
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.3 #1 · p.3 #1 · Upstart Needs Food Photography

I'm not a pro photographer, I make my living in another profession. Early on in my career people who wanted me to represent them often asked for cut rates and promised that they'd use me a lot in the future at more normal prices and would refer other clients to me. Not once - not one single time - did any of them ever later agree to a higher rate, they all expected the same cut rates they got at first. And not once - not one single time - did I ever get a new client through any of them that I remember. After a couple years of that my motto became "no cut rates, full charge the first and every time, if they can't pay it let them go somewhere else." That's worked out very well for me, I suspect it might for you too (though I guess this current restaurant has you locked in).

May 03, 2013 at 03:25 PM
brucemuir
• • • •
p.3 #2 · p.3 #2 · Upstart Needs Food Photography

Yes, it's a constant battle to educate the client as to what good images are worth.

May 03, 2013 at 03:26 PM
Crabby

p.3 #3 · p.3 #3 · Upstart Needs Food Photography

Rustybug, I never said any of that. People's brains are way to sophisticated. Advertising drives sales (and images drive advertising) it doesn't directly cause sales, in any market. The buying decision isn't made from the ad it is made at the point of sale.