Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

3       4       end

Archive 2013 · Need Help deciding between D7100, D600, and D800

Defy
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · Need Help deciding between D7100, D600, and D800

First time photog.... and starting with a D800...wooh ! But If you have the money more power to ya!

My vote then is D800/16-35/50mm 1.4/ 28-300mm and find a mentor (this site is good for that)

Apr 05, 2013 at 02:10 AM
Taoguy
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · Need Help deciding between D7100, D600, and D800

@Kent You have some very good points about thinking of all of this as a system. Luckily I work as a Web Developer so I do already have a very powerful computer system with the full Adobe Master Collection and even have Lightroom so that part of the system is taken care of. I have looked into the D5200 and I believe I would out grow that camera very quickly.

Kent sums up exactly what I'd do, if I was in you position. I have 40 years plus with these picture boxes and while I have the D3s, D3x and D800e as my current bodies, the D5200 would serve 98% of my needs today if I were shooting macro or landscapes. Keep as much cash in reserve as possible, you'll need it when you find what area you prefer to shoot. Anyone here knows, glass will be a constant demand on your wallet. If the bug grabs you, it wont be long you'll be trying to justify how that $3000 lens is needed, then the $6000 lens is worth it, then of course the $10,999 will be next. It does not end.

The D5200 would be an excellent choice to begin your journey. Buy the best glass you can afford and shoot daily.
Get going on the learning curve, you have the best equipment today to enter this field.
Good luck.

Gerard