Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Flowers

davidthejr

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Flowers

Hi all!!

Semi beginner and first time forum poster here! Would love to get some critique on these photos!

Thanks in advance!!
David Landis Jr.

4 by davidthejr, on Flickr

5 by davidthejr, on Flickr

Mar 30, 2013 at 12:53 AM
Ernie Aubert
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Flowers

I'm no expert, but I've done some flower photography; I have a few knee-jerk-jerk reactions:

1) In the first one, the bloom in the upper left is a bit of a distraction, and I'd probably crop off about 10% from the right edge.

B) In the second one, the leaves coming down from the top, and the top right corner are a bit distracting; and I'd like to see the whole large flower, or at least most of it, in focus.

III) I think they could both stand to be brighter.

I hope you'll continue, and show us more.

Mar 30, 2013 at 09:27 PM
davidthejr

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Flowers

Thanks for the advice!!

Apr 02, 2013 at 10:30 PM
AuntiPode
• • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Flowers

Lighting looks somewhat flat/dull. Better light would help. The first has some distracting digital noise. Also mind the light areas of the background and placement of the area of best sharpness (especially for the second image). Also helps to include the EXIF data.

You can help some of the issues with post-processing.

Apr 03, 2013 at 01:04 AM

Search in Used Dept. 

cgardner
• • • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Flowers