Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · insurance for the non-pro?

jerrykur
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · insurance for the non-pro?

HI,

My separate insurance policy with State Farm is up for renewal and I want to consider other options. I am not a professional but have accumulated a lot of gear. Worse yet I add or change out gear quite a bit. My State Farm policy is a bit klunky in adding or removing gear. I would prefer a policy that handled the following better:

1. Adding or removing items
  2. Travel to foreign countries
  3. Coverage of gear loaned or rented

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Jerry

Mar 28, 2013 at 07:57 AM
JimboCin
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · insurance for the non-pro?

Jerry:

Consider joining PPA - www.ppa.com . You don't need to be a professional to join. Cost is $323 per year.

One of their benefits is Photocare Equipment Insurance.

It meets your item #1, as you don't need to list the equipment that is insured. You are covered up to a maximum of $15,000.

Item #2 is covered.

I don't know about your item #3, but I did not see anything in the contract that specifically excluded it. You can take a look at the contract here. You can also call the agent at 888-202-1526.

Jim

Edited on Mar 28, 2013 at 08:22 AM · View previous versions

Mar 28, 2013 at 08:12 AM
RogerC11
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · insurance for the non-pro?

I also have Statefarm and I agree about the adding/removing aspect of the policy. There should be an online way of doing it yourself or something similarly easy. I am also interested in what others have to offer.

Mar 28, 2013 at 08:13 AM
robbymack
• •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · insurance for the non-pro?