New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · C&C on Studio Lighting

Ken_K
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · C&C on Studio Lighting

First of all, if posting images on this forum isn't appropriate let me know and I'll move it.
I'm just getting started with studio lighting. I'm about 1/2 way through "Light Science and Magic". I've read a lot of the material posted by fellow FMers but sooner or later I have to start clicking and see where I stand.
I have a pair of Einstein 640's. The one to camera left has a 24x36 softbox with an inner and outer diffuser. To camera right is a 64" PCB PLM Silver Umbrella. Hair light is via a Canon 580EXII. The EXIF info is : f7.1, ISO 200, 1/160 using a Canon 5DII and a 70-200 2.8L lens.
On camera I thought the exposure was close but viewing it on my calibrated monitor, it appears a bit overexposed to me. The only PP was a slight tweak of WB.
I cringe doing self portraits but I can't seems so snag a willing model.
Comments and suggestions are welcome and appreciated.

Mar 27, 2013 at 06:55 PM
RustyBug
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · C&C on Studio Lighting

First question ... what are you using as your method / approach for determining exposure?
Are you reading RGB histogram, taking light meter readings or something else?

Next question ... what are you using as your method / approach for determining white balance?

I made some assumptions regarding background and shirt color. It looked like your blue channel was unusually brighter than the others and it was lifting the overall exposure as well as giving it the blue cast. This is what I've dialed in, based on my assumptions that the shirt was black, with a gray collar and the bg was white. Not sure how close this is to your reality (especially hair color) or if my assumptions were reasonable, or way off.