Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · hard ball with copyright ownership

david debalko
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · hard ball with copyright ownership

I have been working with a hospital in my area for over 10 years, I get a lot of work from them. They have recently combined with a larger hospital and know I have the hope of working for them as well, actually I already have shot a job for them, but now they came to me with a contract they say I have to sign that would surrender the rights to the photos- they say I could use any of the photos for self promotion (web site, promos )
So If I don't sign the contract not only will I not get any work from the larger Hospital but my original client will not be able to use me anymore. I am sure if I refuse to sign and loose the work there is a photographer right behind me with pen in hand ready to sign. My contacts at my original client says their hands are tied.
Has anyone else came across this?

Mar 19, 2013 at 09:00 PM
mdude85
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · hard ball with copyright ownership

What do you have to lose from signing the contract? You still have the right to use the photos for self-promotion, and you get paid.

Mar 19, 2013 at 10:14 PM
sorpa
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · hard ball with copyright ownership

mdude85 wrote:
What do you have to lose from signing the contract? You still have the right to use the photos for self-promotion, and you get paid.

+1

Work for hire. No copyright.
But you could negotiate a better price for your services.

Mar 20, 2013 at 01:46 AM
FLSTCSAM
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · hard ball with copyright ownership

David,

I think more info is needed.