Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · How much to charge for a 6 hours photo shoot

jaehoppa
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · How much to charge for a 6 hours photo shoot

My friends's friend asked me to take pictures of him and his fiance before their wedding and I have no clue how much to charge them.
I've only met him twice and I'm not a pro.
I think I'm ok but definitely not at pro level.
He asked me to do a 6-hour photo shoot in manhattan plus editing.
What is a reasonable price to charge him?
How much would an average wedding photographer charge?
thanks in advance.

Mar 17, 2013 at 05:24 PM
Sarsfield
• • •
p.1 #2 · How much to charge for a 6 hours photo shoot

You would probably get better answers in the Wedding Photog forum. However, I know the photographer being used for my daughter's wedding charges an extra $500 for a 2 hour engagement shoot. Multiply by 3 = $1500.

Mar 17, 2013 at 08:07 PM
borderlight
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #3 · How much to charge for a 6 hours photo shoot

The problem here is an inexperienced non-pro asking how to price a job like a pro would. I admire the OP's honesty, but your "fee" should in no way be on par with a guy like Sarsfeld mentioned. If you value the time, training, and cost of being a pro photographer, the job fee must be commensurate with experience backed-up with a good portfolio.

Mar 17, 2013 at 11:40 PM
cwebster
• • • •
p.1 #4 · How much to charge for a 6 hours photo shoot

Frankly, I think you should do it for free, because I don't believe in practicing on paying customers.

<Chas>

Mar 18, 2013 at 12:14 AM
Jefferson
• • • •
p.1 #5 · How much to charge for a 6 hours photo shoot