Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Brainstorming - need advice

andyz
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Brainstorming - need advice

Photography has been a great hobby, but I think it needs to at least pay some its own cost if I want new gear like a 1D X, for example. (Adds features over my 1D Mark III and 7D, especially low light shooting.) I have been paid very small amounts for some shoots but I usually don't accept money as I am not a pro, don't have a business or separate insurance and don't want to pay taxes on the income. Now I'm wondering if I want to test the part time business waters.

To do it right I'd really want to protect my assets and that means incorporating. An accountant or bookkeeper would be needed for taxes (sales and income) and perhaps some liability insurance. But I don't plan on a rigid 20 hours a week, my day job doesn't allow that commitment and it wouldn't be fun. So, is it worth trying this on a smaller scale? I'm thinking sports shooting, posting photos for sale using one of the vendor sites, family portraits and the like. I don't believe I'd ever see myself as a full time photographer, my day job is too good.

When the day is over, I suppose I want to see if it works for me before I invest in the business aspects of a business. I'm looking for thoughts and advice from those who've been there. Should I look for a mentor locally, and is that even feasible?

So, did you jump in, or put your toe in the water first to test it?

Mar 14, 2013 at 05:06 PM
Hammy
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Brainstorming - need advice

I think that it's good that you're actually looking at it with perspective.