Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Newbie Lightning help

rollingpebble

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Newbie Lightning help

Hello everyone,

I just started learning flash photography, recently I bought sb-25 and have been using it to learn lightning and looking at online learning resources I see everyone using at least two or more lights. Since I just did some spring-cleaning to free up cash I have around $350 + $100 give or take to invest on my hobby. I am planning to buy some light so wondering if you guys can help me out.

Here are some of the products I am thinking about

Interfit Photographic EXD200 ( link ) $429.99

Yongnuo YN560-II ( link )x 2 $149.98 plus light stands and umbrella and soft box

AlienBees™ B400 Flash Unit (AlienBees ) x2 $450-10%(student discount) = $405 plus shipping and light stands and umbrella and soft box

Mar 07, 2013 at 04:52 PM
cordellwillis
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · Newbie Lightning help

Help on the product selection or determining if you need more lights? It's based on what you are trying to do.

Though the B400 and EXD200 are not the most powerful lights, I still would not place them in the same decision making category as the YN560. The Yongnuo (and nearly any other hotshoe type flash) are great for portability, but are less powerful than the other two in you list. The Yongnuo is not exactly interchangeable with the others.

Even with the above said I would still suggest the YN560 based on what you have and where you are starting out. You can train yourself on proper lighting with your SB-25 and the two YN560s....though you can do the same with your current SB-25, a reflector, and proper placement of ambient light too.