Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · Auto focus help, especially with my new Canon 500 MkII

Jim McCann
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Auto focus help, especially with my new Canon 500 MkII

Admittedly, I am a digital rookie, and I've been struggling with learning to properly auto focus. Doesn't seem to be a big deal with any of my other lenses at the moment, but I'm not getting the number of keepers lately on relatively slow moving critters, like ambling caribou and just yesterday a walking wolf.

Not sure how to post photos here to show you, but likely it wouldn't make any difference. The lens doesn't appear to front or back focus, just no focus at all. I had the fortunate opportunity to get some quick shots of a lone wolf yesterday in pretty great light. I had the 500 attached to one of my 7Ds, and I'd been using ISO 800 previously so that's where it was for the wolf. Camera set to AV and a aperture of F7.1, shutter was 1/2000th. I just recently took the advice of so many here and changed my AF to the star button on the back of all my camera bodies.

Could it be that my tracking sensitivity is set wrong? Or perhaps I should be pushing the back button more than once when following an animal?

I realize no one will know what my problem is for certain without going through my menus, but I thought I'd ask for some general ideas to get me started on the right path.I'm sure my 500 can do much better than just an occasional keeper!

Thanks!

Jim

Mar 04, 2013 at 08:07 PM
mitesh
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Auto focus help, especially with my new Canon 500 MkII

Jim,

I'm sure you will get better help from others, but to get started, I have a few questions: