Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Off-Camera Flash...Need advice.

kelceyann

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Off-Camera Flash...Need advice.

I am just getting my equipment going, and have a basic Canon Rebel XT. I just bought a Canon 420EX Speedlight, and because I have never used a flash before I have no idea if the thing is working correctly. It certainly doesn't act like it.

I have a feeling this is due to the fact that my camera is a TTL camera and not an E-TTL camera, and I may have to resell this thing and go to a lower-end flash to match my body. I wanted the ability to aim my flash, but maybe its not possible, or maybe I got a bum deal...

Any help on this is appreciated!:/

Feb 27, 2013 at 09:52 PM
RobDickinson
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Off-Camera Flash...Need advice.

Your rebel is ettl. Your flash is ettl.

They should both work together fine, but it takes a bit of knowledge to get it working.

describe what your doing, what mode on the camera, aperture,.shutter speed etc, what mode on the flash.

Feb 27, 2013 at 10:03 PM
RobDickinson
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Off-Camera Flash...Need advice.

Note the 420ex wont work off camera with the rebel XT (without triggers or an st-e2 or flash commander).

I think the T2i can act as commander, the 60d and 7d certainly can.

Feb 27, 2013 at 10:13 PM
robbymack
• •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Off-Camera Flash...Need advice.

By aim do you mean bounce or do you mean having the flash off camera?

Feb 27, 2013 at 10:21 PM
timbop
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Off-Camera Flash...Need advice.