Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2013 · That was then, this is now...

morby
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · That was then, this is now...

I've been following almost every thread that has been posted in the past few weeks, and something that keeps standing out is, "we all start somewhere". We've all made a ton of mistakes and shot weddings that we aren't proud of.

I started shooting weddings because I had friends that were getting married and I had a camera (probably the way most people start). I'm embarrassed when I look back on my early weddings. I think to myself, "I can't believe I delivered that to a client!" My turning point was in 2009 when I took a night class with a professional wedding photographer. I told him that I shot weddings (with my Canon 20D on auto and kit lenses) and he tore into me pretty severely. After that conversation I had two options: take this seriously or quit shooting weddings. I decided to take it seriously and I'm glad I did.

Below I've posted a few images from 2007 and comparable situations from 2012 (and one from 2013). I feel that there has been a lot of growth in 5 years! It often takes failure before growth occurs, but it's always worth it.

I'd love to hear stories or see images of growth from other people in the group. How far have you come and how did you get there?

Getting Ready Image from 2007...

Getting Ready Image from 2012...

Bridal Portrait from 2007...

Bridal Portrait from 2012...

Group Image from 2007...

Group Image from 2012...

First Dance Image from 2007...

First Dance Image from 2013...

Edited on Feb 27, 2013 at 07:27 PM · View previous versions

Feb 27, 2013 at 06:42 PM
ShaneMD
• • •
p.1 #2 · That was then, this is now...