Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Scanners for old photographs to preserve family memories ...

JMBANAS
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Scanners for old photographs to preserve family memories . . .

I am an amateur photographer who has learned a lot from FM, and I appreciate the comments from the members and have come to respect a number of the frequent posters. I have something that is a little different, so I thought I would post here and ask for a little help in the hopes that someone could guide me.

The last year has been a tough one for me and my family. We have suffered a few major losses in our family, leaving me with boxes and boxes of old photographs that I never even knew existed. They are from the 1940's to the 1980's, and there are 100s and 100s of them. While I enjoy going down memory lane, they are not long for this world. The attic has not been kind to a lot of them. What I would like to do is make a digital photo album of my family and my wife's family from these pictures. But, I know nothing about scanners. This is where I am asking for help.

What I am looking for are recommendations for a reliable scanner that is easy to use and will yield decent results. Price is always a consideration, but if a $100 scanner is garbage and a $400 scanner is great, well, that is an extra $300 well spent, in my mind.

So, with all that being said, can anyone recommend a good scanner? I would also like what would be your "dream" scanner for converting old photographs to the digital age.

I know there are more than a few services that do this, but I would like to try it myself.