Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · PCB Beauty Dish - Silver or White?

Cr VI
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · PCB Beauty Dish - Silver or White?

I've decided to try a beauty dish with my AB mono-lights. Buff offers the option of a white or a silver reflecting surface. However, the specifications on the spread (un-socked) make them seem like two different animals. The white is at 135 degrees and the silver at 45 degrees.

I have no experience with this type of reflector to fall back on, so I would appreciate any insight on the most useful choice.

Thanks.

Feb 25, 2013 at 04:26 PM
RustyBug
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · PCB Beauty Dish - Silver or White?

That's an interesting spec diff that I never noticed before. The thing that comes to mind for me is that the silver may be polished somewhat to make it more specular/efficient.

If that is the primary case of the differences (other than the obvious white/silver), and the shape of the BD appears to be the same, it could be akin to the difference between shining a light on a mirror vs. a piece of white paper. One (mirror) reflects the light much more narrowly iaw AI=AR, while the other (white paper) "scatters" the light into more directions due to the greater variance in surface texture (i.e. more angles).

I've got no experience with the PCB BD's themselves, but my silver BD is much more textured than the what the PCB offering appears to be in the web pics. I'd think that for most BD applications, the white would be the way to go, as the polished silver (vs. soft white or textured silver) would be pretty "hot". Of course, you can always "sock" it.