Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Sports Shooting - Canon 1DIII or IIn

rswheels

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Sports Shooting - Canon 1DIII or IIn

I am considering buying a used camera for sports photography. I primarily shoot soccer and tennis using a 70-200 F2.8 non IS as my primary lens. I have noticed that I can purchase a 1D Mark IIn between $500 - $700 or a 1DIII anywhere from $900-$1200. I have been using a canon 40D for around 4 years now so I know either will be a significant upgrade. I have read a lot of praise about the IIn but was wondering if I would get more for my money purchasing a 1DIII. I would like to get around 2-3 years of good use and that is my concern about buying a IIn. Is the IIn technology starting to fall way behind?

Feb 23, 2013 at 05:15 PM
Ian.Dobinson
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Sports Shooting - Canon 1DIII or IIn

Save your fingers and get the mk3

Feb 23, 2013 at 05:21 PM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Sports Shooting - Canon 1DIII or IIn

Ian.Dobinson wrote:
... get the mk3

+1

For crop cameras, I started with a 20D and went to 1DIV, via 30D, 40D, 1DII, and 1DIII. Get the 1DIII.

Feb 23, 2013 at 05:23 PM
Psychic1
• • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Sports Shooting - Canon 1DIII or IIn

3000+ shots on the 1DIII battery and sensor cleaning are just 2 reasons.

Feb 23, 2013 at 05:23 PM
Cicopo
• • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Sports Shooting - Canon 1DIII or IIn

The mark 3 has many advantages to the 2n starting with reduced weight thanks to the better battery, easier command system for changing settings & higher ISO's

Feb 23, 2013 at 05:25 PM
tacos3
• •
p.1 #6 · p.1 #6 · Sports Shooting - Canon 1DIII or IIn