Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Help I have a question about lights!

sassykoi

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Help I have a question about lights!

There is a listing for a Novatron model120 set with 2 white umbrellas with stand and 2 lights. I want to learn more about lighting and wa wondering if this would be a good starter? It is only 100 but at this point I know very little. Yes I am a beginner with lighting!

Thanks

Feb 23, 2013 at 04:31 PM
sassykoi

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Help I have a question about lights!

http://raleigh.craigslist.org/pho/3632463865.html

Here is the posting...Please I need help.

Feb 23, 2013 at 05:01 PM
BrianO
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Help I have a question about lights!

Where do you plan on using these lights? That is, how big a space, what kind(s) of photos, etc.

Feb 23, 2013 at 05:23 PM
sassykoi

p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Help I have a question about lights!

I am thinking in my living room(8ft ceiling but large room) Pictures of grandkids and family

Feb 23, 2013 at 05:33 PM
BrianO
• • • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Help I have a question about lights!

sassykoi wrote:
I am thinking in my living room(8ft ceiling but large room) Pictures of grandkids and family

Umbrellas have a lot of spill, so in a small room you can get too much bounce light off all the surfaces. Keeping the lights close to the subject (so that the bounced light has a lot of fall-off in comparison) can help, as can using one umbrella for the fill light (for soft shadows) and just a reflector for the key light (for more definition).