1       2       3              9      
       11              19       20       end

Archive 2013 · Nightscapes using AstroTrac Tracking Mount

Fred Miranda
Admin
Upload & Sell: On
p.10 #1 · p.10 #1 · Nightscapes using AstroTrac Tracking Mount

RobDickinson wrote:
Well I guess that proves a point? Also when are you buying an 800?

BTW what do you do when you cant see the circumpolar point?

And how does the auto guiding work?

Autoguiding sight + PC links to the astrtrac and controls its movements?

Hi Rob,
I'm not an expert on this as I have owned the Astrotrac mount for about a month. However, I'm glad to share my progress and what I've learned.
I'm sticking with my 400 f/5.6, 500 f/4 and extenders for astro shooting...

As far as auto guiding, it basically allows you to stay on your target. The auto guiding camera is connected to your computer and autoguiding software. It also connects to the Astrotrac mount using a special cable. It works quite well even though Astrotrac only corrects in RA.

It seems complicated but in about 3 minutes, you are ready to start your shooting sequence. I used BackyardEOS to connect to the camera.
http://www.backyardeos.com

Mar 24, 2013 at 02:13 PM
RobDickinson
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.10 #2 · p.10 #2 · Nightscapes using AstroTrac Tracking Mount

Thanks Fred, sounds like its not as complex as it sounds..

Mar 25, 2013 at 02:06 AM
danws6

p.10 #3 · p.10 #3 · Nightscapes using AstroTrac Tracking Mount

Fred Miranda wrote:
Hi Dan,
The heaviest combination I've tried using a guiding camera was with the 7-pound Canon 500mm f/4L IS II lens on my Canon EOS 6D. The Astrotrac was attached to the "Wedge".

Awesome. Thank you for all the info Fred, your pictures look great!

Now to wait for the astrotrac to get back in stock.

Mar 25, 2013 at 10:12 AM
Fred Miranda
Admin
p.10 #4 · p.10 #4 · Nightscapes using AstroTrac Tracking Mount

dgdg wrote:
Fred,