Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Preserving file quality

SylviaLWright

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Preserving file quality

Hello all, I'm new to fredmiranda forums.

Just returned from a photo trip to Yosemite NP (where I met Landscape forum moderator Jim Fox, who pointed me here).

I shot RAW + large JPGs, and hope to use them to teach myself how to improve images in post processing.

I read that every time you open and close a JPEG file, it loses some data. Is this true of RAW files?

What do you do to preserve those lovely fat files -- work on copies and leave your original files alone?

Many thanks.

Sylvia

Edited on Feb 21, 2013 at 07:21 PM · View previous versions

Feb 21, 2013 at 05:00 PM
howardm4
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Preserving file quality

JPG is by definition a lossy format so yes, you do eventually lose data on each save but it takes a while to actually be visible. Since you also have RAW (yeah!), you should start from there.

Since RAW files need to be 'rendered' into an actual image, you don't actually manipulate them directly. For example, in Photoshop, you'd dump the RAW file into their converter (ACR) and you'd get a .psd (which is a variation of the TIFF format) which is NOT lossy.

Of course, you should always make safety copies - just in case!

Feb 21, 2013 at 05:13 PM
WAYCOOL
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Preserving file quality

Just opening and closeting a jpg will do no harm. Like Howardm4 said if in the coarse of editing your photo