Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

FM Forum Rules
Landscape Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Landscape Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Night/Star Photography - A Question

Lisa_Holloway
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Night/Star Photography - A Question

So I'm a portrait photographer but dabbling in landscapes, and have an image in my head that includes a silhouette of some saguaro cacti with some of the last colors of the sunsets, with the stars above. I am assuming a photo like this would only be possible by blending 2 different exposures? One with the sunset/silhouette, and the other of the stars? Is there a special way these 2 photos are combined in Photoshop? My husband and I are going to take a drive to a nice dark area tonight and want to test this out. I've got my wide angle, a tripod and remote, and am excited to try something new. I'd really appreciate any tips or tutorial links you guys might have! Thank you!

Feb 16, 2013 at 06:08 PM
Tuan Le
• • •
p.1 #2 · Night/Star Photography - A Question

Lisa,

You'll want to take at look the excellent tutorial that Floris has put together. He's posted here on FM before but you can also find it here:

http://www.naturephotographers.net/articles0509/fv0509-1.html

Good luck!

Feb 16, 2013 at 06:44 PM
JimFox
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · Night/Star Photography - A Question

Hey Lisa,

That sounds like a fun little project. Yeah, the sunset colors will be gone before the stars appear. What you are asking is actually pretty easy and would just require a pretty simple layer mask. It just depends on how high the Saguaro is in the scene as to how difficult it might be to blend, but if you are letting it silhouette, then that will help too.