Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · Are the "Greats" Still Relevant?

canerino
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Are the "Greats" Still Relevant?

I've been thinking about this for a while. Are the photographic 'greats' still relevant in today's world of photography (and more specifically, wedding photography)?

Like most, I didnt know a damn thing about photography when I first picked up a camera back in 2005. I slowly worked my way through the technicals and eventually began looking at the aesthetics of my photos. I am a History teacher by trade, so naturally I began to look to the past to see who the 'greats' were. My affinity was for people photography so I started to look at Henri Cartier-Bresson, Elliott Erwitt, Walker Evans, Weegee, Garry Winogrand, Richard Avendon, Robert Frank, Karsh, Penn, etc. Honestly, for most of their photos, I saw no reason to call them 'great' or even 'good' in some cases! "Clearly these people are just called 'great' because of their names!" I thought.

Fast forward a few years and I grew as a photographer. I had an idea on where I wanted to go (family documentary) and for whatever reason I kept one foot in the past when looking to improve my photography. I began to see that the greats were truly great and deserving of their place in photographic history. I quickly learned that photographing the ever changing human dynamic with thought and intention (in my case, my family) was really hard to do.

Fast forward a few more years to now. I am a wedding photographer. I love the documentary side of what I do. Absolutely love it. I AM PASSIONATE about it. I have evolved a bit from my family documentary roots but shoot with the same/similar principles which are rooted in 'the greats'.