New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Advice for a Lighting Newbie

Ken_K
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Advice for a Lighting Newbie

I'm a hobbyist and have taken a couple of studio lighting courses and am ready to buy some equipment. At this point I think I'll be using this gear primarily for portraits. My "hands on" experience is somewhat limited so I was hoping some of the experienced people would offer suggestions.
I've already got a Canon 580 EXII strobe. I think I've decided to go with Paul C Buff equipment as it seems to offer a pretty good bang for the buck. Unless someone can persuade me otherwise, I'm considering the Einsteins.

I'm still a bit unsure about modifiers. I'm considering the PCB 32x40 softbox. Since umbrellas are fairly cheap (I realize the paradox of using the word "cheap" when referring to photography), should I get a couple of them as well? PLM, Extreme Silver, Soft Silver, plain white ??

It also seems like the CyberSync transmitter/receivers would be a good match. Given my occasional use of this equipment, would the Cyber Commander be worth the extra $120?

If there's anything I've forgotten, please feel free to chime in.

As always, thanks for taking the time to reply.

Feb 10, 2013 at 08:12 PM
cgardner
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Advice for a Lighting Newbie

Buff gear is a good value and service is great.

Would caution starting with large modifers unless you have very high ceiling because getting naturally flattering portrait lighting requires a 45 degree downward key vector to mimic angle of natural light that is the baseline for "normal" looking 3D rendering in 2D.

You may find my tutorials helpful: http://photo.nova.org

Feb 10, 2013 at 09:15 PM
BrianO
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Advice for a Lighting Newbie

Ken_K wrote:
...Since umbrellas are fairly cheap ...should I get a couple of them as well?