Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

FM Forum Rules
Landscape Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Landscape Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Three Rivers Petroglyph, NM

LandPirate
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Three Rivers Petroglyph, NM

I'm completely new to digital photography. The steep learning curve is proving to be challenging and enjoyable. Constructive criticism is always welcome. Pointers and advice appreciated.

Just got my first DSLR, a Canon T4i with two kit lenses (EF-S 18-55 IS II & 55-250 IS II). I'm quickly learning the limitations of these lenses and realize already that upgrades are in my near future. The wife and I recently went to Ruidoso, NM and took a side trip to Three Rivers Petroglyph. Very interesting place but I don't think it would be so interesting in the heat of summer. Everyone's thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks.

Edited by JimFox on Feb 11, 2013 at 12:34 AM

Feb 10, 2013 at 07:57 PM
JimFox
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Three Rivers Petroglyph, NM

Hey Michael,

You have a nice kit to get started on, but yeah, the lenses you will want to upgrade as time goes on. While these petroglyphs are very cool to see, in regards to getting great landscapes from an area like this, it's going to be very difficult. Now if you had shot at a different time of day, either early or later so the light was softer would help. Having some clouds would really help. But these petrolyphs are stuck amongst a brushy scrubby area, so even with that, your chances of really being successful are limited.