Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

1       2      
       4       5       end

Archive 2013 · Appeal of super high ISOs...fallacy?

RobDickinson
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.3 #1 · Appeal of super high ISOs...fallacy?

Even as a landscaper I want cleaner high ISO, it always gives other options, especially with night shooting.

Feb 11, 2013 at 12:41 AM
Rickuz
• •
p.3 #2 · Appeal of super high ISOs...fallacy?

runamuck wrote:
Just because you *can* do something does not mean you should.

My thoughts exactly.

And personally, I couldn't care less about high ISO. No matter how "clean" high ISO has become, it will never be better than shooting ISO 100 - 800 on a tripod with cable release. If you want maximum IQ, highest dynamic range, and truly rich files for post-processing, ISO 100 is the way to go.

I rarely go above ISO 800, not even with new cameras like the 5D3 / 1DX / D800.

Oh, did I mention the tripod? Get married to your tripod and never leave home without it! On occasions when shooting handheld and light is not good enough, use your speedlite. If speedlite is not enough, use strobes.

Feb 11, 2013 at 12:46 AM
Monito
• • • • • •
p.3 #3 · Appeal of super high ISOs...fallacy?

Rickuz wrote:
Oh, did I mention the tripod? Get married to your tripod and never leave home without it! On occasions when shooting handheld and light is not good enough, use your speedlite. If speedlite is not enough, use strobes.

Another poor lost soul thinks that his way of doing things is the only way and is not conversant with large swathes of photographic history or practice.

Feb 11, 2013 at 01:26 AM
RobDickinson
• • • •
p.3 #4 · Appeal of super high ISOs...fallacy?

An awful waste of space by robjdickinson, on Flickr