New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Flash advice needed

CRFTony
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Flash advice needed

I'm primarily an on location photographer (seniors mostly) and I also shoot alone so finding the right balance between ease of use/portability and the quality of light has always been a challenge. I started off using 2 Nikon speedlights on a bracket with an umbrella and I loved the quality of light. I triggered them with Radio Poppers which eventually stopped working. My problem with this was that I felt like I didn't have enough power to shoot in full sun and retain sky details.

When the RPs went belly up, I moved into Alien Bees outdoors. I had previously used them in studio and I like the lights, but it's a bear to move one of them around on location, on a C stand, powered by a vagabond mini. I triggered the AB with PWs. I liked the light, but honestly, I preferred the light I was getting from my speedlights.

So, as a new season approaches, I'm trying to decide what to do. I injured my shoulder last fall and carrying a lot of heavy equipment is really painful. I was hoping I could go back to speedlights, but had some questions/ideas. Could I get some of the Yongnuo flashes and use them with the new PW Flex triggers to, hopefully, surpass the 1/250 sync speed limit of my D800? I don't really want to invest in a bunch of new SBxxx speedlights so I was hoping the Yonguo's might work instead. Has anyone tried this and does it work? Second, are there any type of adapters to use 3 or 4 of the flashes at once that will also work with the PW Flex triggers?

I can use my AB set up again is necessary but it's going to be miserable with my injury and I'm trying to avoid it. Thanks in advance for any advice!

Feb 07, 2013 at 03:04 PM
RustyBug
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Flash advice needed