Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Some B&W staged portraits

FredVf
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Some B&W staged portraits

Hello all,

New to the forum and this is my first posting. This is a series of staged photos I took of my daughter and a friend last weekend. The first theme was an ethnic one and the second more of a "fashion" styled theme. I am an absolute fan of monochrome, so that is why I chose to edit these in B&W. I am new to using studio lights and in these I used a single Einstein monolight with an umbrella and diffuser, placed Left of camera at around 7 feet high, and about 1/2 power if I recall correctly. The camera is a Canon T3i (crop sensor) with the stock 55 -250 zoom.

I was very impressed by the quality of the photographers I saw on this forum and would love to hear constructive criticism to help me improve my photos. I am very anxious to get better at this.

Thank you and hope you enjoy,

Fred

Feb 07, 2013 at 01:20 PM
Eyeball
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · Some B&W staged portraits

My favorite is #1. Very nice portrait. Nice catchlights. Nice tones. Simple, classic.

#2 - Scarf and unruly hair dominate the image. Seems to be trying to focus on the object in her hand but I can't tell what that object is due to her hand and the crop. Darkening everything but her face a little bit (kind of a specialized vignette) would help I think.

#3 - Would like to see her body turned a little more towards the camera. Lighting appears to be causing significant bags under the eyes unless that is some kind of special make-up. She seems a little squinty-eyed/not relaxed.